NADOs partner with the ITA to deliver new certified training programme for Doping Control Officers

UK Anti-Doping (UKAD) and other National Anti-Doping Organisations (NADO) have joined The International Testing Agency (ITA) as it launches its new International Doping Control Officer (IDCO) training programme. The certified course is establishing an internationally recognised qualification that will set a universal standard for training Doping Control Officers (DCO) at international sporting events including world championships, Olympic and Paralympic Games and other major events. 

Through both online and face-to-face training, the IDCO programme aims to create an international quality standard for the testing process. Those currently working as DCOs can enrol in the new advanced course to become an ITA Certified IDCO. 

The new qualification will provide a guarantee to athletes worldwide that the testing procedure is being conducted by an ITA certified professional and is compliant with the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) Code. 

NADOs around the world, including UKAD, recognised the need for a global standard and best practice for DCOs, and committed to participating in the programme to improve the quality of testing internationally. 

UKAD has committed to support the ITA and promote quality testing standards globally. 

Pat Myhill, UKAD Director of Operations said “We are delighted to be partnering with the ITA on such an important project. Currently, DCO training varies country to country, which means that quality standards also vary. Granting all DCOs access to the same level of education is paramount and is a key step in unifying in the doping control process around the world. The new ITA Certified IDCO will lead the way in improving the standards and best practice.”

As part of UKAD's international work to raise the global standard of anti-doping, it has already provided support and training, including DCO and Therapeutic Use Exemption (TUE) education programmes, on a consultancy basis to NADOs in Malta, Cyprus, Kenya, United Arab Emirates, Japan, Brazil and Belarus.